-I honestly believe “our eyes are the window to our soul.” Nine times out of ten, I could careless whether my subject smiles into the camera or not. Besides, more often than not that smile is forced. Children 4 to 12 years of age and adults over the age of 70 are my favorite portrait subjects. Human beings become weird in their adolescent years and even stranger in their 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s. I suppose it is all the emotional baggage and stress teenagers and adults carry around and that children and seniors (I hate using that word) just don’t give a $%#@! Lena & Justin – Thanksgiving Portraits / Highlight: Justin pointing at my camera equipment and repeating, “teach me, Donny…teach me camera.” Too cool.

-Photographed Cynthia Vannucci, Ph.D. of the Metropolitan State College of Denver for the Winter issue of Colorado Meetings and Events Magazine. Dave Bromeland, Associate Art Director. Final layout will be posted after publication.

Mike Huggins of The Glo Company for Modern Car Care Magazine’s November 2008 cover, feature and website. Most art directors will reject images that contain company signage, but this publication insisted upon it. I had a wonderful concept in mind which required Mr. Huggins to stand inside his car wash below high-powered water sprayers while dressed in a yellow rain-suit. Mike was not as enthusiastic about my idea and I don’t blame him. Tony Jones, Editor.

-Created corporate portraits for Novo Seven and Advogent Group, Inc. at The Curtis Hotel in downtown Denver. The rumor was MADONNA had taken over the entire 15th floor. No confirmation, but it was great imagining the possibilities. The Advogent Group companies are strategically aligned to service the pharmaceutical, biotech and device industries. Melissa Finnigan, Multimedia Associate Director. A gray card capture of my anonymous 1st assistant & a crude lighting diagram.

Chris Anderson of the Denver Nuggets for the November 2008 issue of Denver Magazine. Tom Visocchi, Art Director. Brian Melton, Associate Editor.

Wonderful Machine is dedicated to connecting North America’s most talent photographers with the industry’s most discerning clients.  I am honored to be associated with this astonishing group of photographers. Thank you everyone at Wonderful Machine.”







J.R. Smith of the Denver Nuggets for the cover of the November 2008 issue of Mile High Sports Magazine. Doug Ottewill, Producer. Nick Heckman, Art Director. Sara Wrenn, Stylist.

Taylor Simonton for Corporate Board Member Magazine Nov/Dec 08. Not many corporate board members are willing to dress as a boy scout or wear $15 rain boots over $500 slacks*. *an unpublished image Thomas Ryan, Art Direction & Design. Hillary Moore, Stylist.

-Performed a location scout at the Metropolitan State College of Denver for an upcoming Colorado Meetings and Events Magazine assignment. Would a red apple placed on a desk appear too cliché?

-For many years, I have assumed that it would be relatively easy to obtain inexpensive studio space anywhere in the Denver, Colorado metropolitan area. During the 1990s and early 2000s, there were several square miles of abandoned, derelict warehouses north of downtown and Denver was notoriously inexpensive compared to the West and East coasts. Over the years, I’ve never paid more than $1 a square foot to rent shared studio space. My New York colleagues inform me that my current studio situation would cost them $8,000 to $10,000 a month in Manhattan. Alright, maybe things are not that bad after all. With all that said check out some of my previous studio spaces and what has happen to them over the past 15 years.
All image were created during November of 2008.


Park Ave. & East 18th Ave. / from 1993 – 1994 / remodeled in 2001 ?

Downing St. & Bruce Randolph Ave. / from 1995 – 1997 / recently remodeled

Walnut St. & 26th Ave. / from 1998 – 2000 / recently
remodeled & for lease

South Broadway & Alameda Ave. / from 2000 – present / only a matter-of-time !

-I have created only one family portrait in 2008 and I created only two family portraits in 2007. Over the past several years, I have found family portraiture and other similar genres of photography to be financially unstable. As a result of competitive pricing, I rarely turn a minimum profit on family portraits or senior portraits unless I eliminate pre- and post- production or charge outrageous print and/or CD prices. Today, just about everyone insist on purchasing the images along with all the usage rights, but unfortunately, many do not understand the tangible value of our imagery. I blame this trend on the misconception that digital photography is less expensive than traditional film photography and I believe this simple ignorance has driven the value of our profession down along with our creative fees.

A Must Read = http://editorialphoto.com/outreachep/digital_manifesto.asp

On a lighter note…check out the profitable family portrait posted below. My clients only request, “no city parks or seamless paper, please.”

-The old Gates Rubber plant, which dates back to the early 1900s, will be torn down and replaced by a transit-oriented development with housing, retail and office space. Security surrounding the building is intense with guards patrolling the facility 24/7. I would give my left arm (figure of speech) to get inside and on-top-of the building for a few days. My imagination runs wild with images of peeling paint, rusting pipes and broken windows. I have to get inside this building…soon!


-Any client or photo assistant that has accompanied me on an assignment outside of Denver will attest to my compulsive behavior when it comes to searching for and purchasing the perfect refrigerator magnet that represents the city in which we created images. “Do you have any magnets with pictures on them?” “Sir, these are all we sell!”

Comments are closed.