August 2012

Posted: 08/28/2012 in Webpost

Instagram/Statigram – Check Out my iPhotography and Follow Me on Instagram or Statigram.

LOL. I realize 3 “Likes” and 16 “Followers” isn’t much … LOL

iPhotography – Colorado, the Southwest … most of North America could use some … Rain.

Drought, 2012.

Accolade – “I just hired Don Cudney …” I am really happy and honored to be mentioned on Wonderful Machine’s Successes web page – even if it is for self-promotional reasons. Thank you WM.

Photo Assignment/Behind the Scenes – Photographed Donald Woods, President of Van Gilder Insurance for future marketing materials and an article in the Denver Business Journal. Location: Broadway Studios East.

Outtake.

Photo Assignment/Behind the Scenes – Drove out to Dick’s Sporting Goods Park to photograph Connor Casey, Omar Cummings, Shane O’Neil and Jamie Smith of the Colorado Rapids Soccer Team for upcoming issues of Mile High Sports Magazine. *Final images will be posted after publication.

DSGP, 2012. © Don Cudney

Autograph Day, 2012.

Omar Outtake #1. © Don Cudney

Photo Assignment/Behind the Scenes – Flew out to Sioux City, Iowa to create images for The Industrial Company. BTY Moment: On my last assignment in Iowa my camera strap “snapped loose” sending my $6,000 “set up” 3 feet below to the hard concrete. As a result my lens will no longer manually focus – est. cost of repair = $300+. IF the strap had snapped loose 5 minutes earlier my camera & lens would have fallen 110 feet (210 stairs) and possibly killed someone working below. USE YOUR STRAP. *Final images will be posted after selection.

Grinding & Welding – iPhotography

Can’t get enough welding or grinding images. © Don Cudney

Small assortment of images created over a 8 hour day © Don Cudney

A Few iPhone Portraits

Tornado Shelter, 2012.

Wild Hemp growing along the Missouri River outside Sioux City, Iowa

Checking the Dial & A View of Nebraska and the Missouri River

Photo Assignment/Behind the Scenes – Traveled out to Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colorado to photograph Martin Rivero of the Colorado Rapids for an upcoming layout in Mile High Sports Magazine.*Final layout will be posted after publication.

BTS Video Still

Photo Assignment/Behind the Scenes – Spent a couple hours in a downtown Denver alleyway photographing Jana Blue for an upcoming layout in Mile High Sports Magazine. Special thanks to Josh Gold, Doug Ottewill and the anonymous Fed Ex driver.*Final layout and more outtakes will be posted after publication.

Behind the Scenes with Jana Blue

Jana Blue, 2012. © Don Cudney

Jana Blue, 2012. © Don Cudney

Industry Stuff – If you haven’t visited or subscribed to Common Cents do so. Common Cents is an unapologetic, opinionated, and often sarcastic advocate for independent photographers. It will educate, agitate and inform. “The Good, The Bad and The Ugly” is a list of publications and other clients and their specific dealings with photographers.

Barter/Trade … Just For Fun – Spent the day at Wellington Lake outside Bailey, Colorado fishing, hiking and documenting “the Wildlife.” I brought along most of my expensive DSLR equipment to photograph my friends niece and nephew, but I hate to admit – I forgot each and every one of my Memory Cards back at the studio. How embarrassing; luckily it was a close friend, a barter/trade and that my iPhone captures … dare I say it – decent pictures.

Junior, 2012. iPhotography © Don Cudney

Wellington Lake, Bailey, Colorado. iPhotography © Don Cudney, 2012.

Barter/Trade – Will Work For Food. Receiving a great home cooked meal along with great company can be as good as money (lol). Created a few images for my friend that owns and operates fabriKate.

“Take Five.”

No Mas !

Just Ranting – I could go on and on about how “Imagery” has never been more important or more influential in our lives than … Today  – and how this really is The Golden Age of Photography. I could also go on and on about how those that “create” imagery are receiving less respect – and worse yet – less compensation for their Creativity and Skill – but, I won’t. Instead I’ll just say that 90 percent of MY movie decisions, food selections and travel plans are based on “the Imagery” – the commissioned Photography and Graphic Design to more precise. Enjoy the Movie.

Redbox Movie Kiosk: Images reposted without compensation. © The Movie Industry.

Industry Bullshit – My friends at Editorial Photographer suggested that I do a Google Books search and “find out” if Google was “using” and profiting from the illegal use of my images. A quick two-minute search revealed two images that were licensed through Index Stock and/or Index Stock Imagery – now Getty Images.
“I’ll keep you updated on the lawsuit !”

The image on the left is of me snowboarding (1995) on Loveland Pass, CO – it was created utilizing a remote trigger.
The Pandora’s Box image was licensed once but “USED” three times (or more) for Republications.

10 Years of MHSM – I am so grateful to have been a part of MHSM for the last 10 years and I am looking forward to another 20. Congratualtions to the entire staff at Haas Rock and Mile High Sports Magazine. “Now Let’s Party.”

Tearsheet/Outtakes – Photographed Luis Zapata of the Colorado Rapids along with his beautiful family for the August 2012 issue of Mile High Sports Magazine. Doug Ottewill, Publisher. Becky Antcliff, Art Director.

Sebastian & Santiago, 2012. © Don Cudney

Sebastian & Santiago, 2012. © Don Cudney

Video Assignment/Behind the Scenes – Created high-resolution video of the Ocean Express car wash at 94th and Federal Blvd. in Arvada, Colorado. Client: Mark VII

Video Stills

The DSLR Video Rig

Ocean Express by iPhone

Photo Assignment/Behind the Scenes – Traveled up to the 40th Floor at 1999 Broadway/Denver to photograph Brian, Kim, Dorothy and Caitlin of Hein & Associates LLP for an upcoming issue of Accounting Today Magazine.
*Final layout will be posted after publication.

1999 Broadway – View from the 40th Floor

iPhotography – I admit … I’ve gone overboard with the iPhotography, but really – when are camera manufacturers going to incorporate Instagram-style Apps and G4 wireless service into their DSLRs? Seriously.

Visit my Statigram Site

Just For Fun – I could see how a few people would find this video … Rash, but if you are a working, professional photographer that has dealt with clients, subjects, colleagues and bullshit for more than a decade – you’ll understand the humor in this parody of Anne Geddes. It’s A Photography Thing.

+

Photo Assignment/Tearsheet – Created images of Ben Skigen of Tool King/Denver for the cover and feature images in the August/September issue of Multichannel Merchant Magazine.

Outtakes

Messing Around – I won’t be able to Share the rest of the 2012 PIKE Dreamgirl images until after the guys publish the calendar, but I thought I’d give you a Sneak Peak anyway.

Archive/Tearsheet – PlanSponsor Magazine August 2005. Location: Genesee, Colorado.

Comments are closed.